Maslows Needs Model

Posted on May 15 2009

Abraham Maslow developed the Maslows Needs Model (Hierarchy of Needs model) in the mid 1940’s. Organizational behaviour classes today still proclaim that the Human’s basic needs dictate their basic decision making on a generic scale and Maslows needs model is a key teaching tool.

Each of us is motivated by needs.

Our most basic needs are born with us, and have outlived all changes to technology and society. The model states we must satisfy each need in turn, starting with the first which deals with survival. In relation to decision making, we are apt to make a decision to satisfy the lowest level need in the hierarchy, before we decide on needs in higher levels.

Only when the lower order needs of physical and emotional well-being are satisfied can we rationally make decisions on the higher order needs of influence and personal development. If we lose any of the things that satisfy our lower order needs, we can no longer decide on higher level items until the lower ones have been satisified again.

Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs Model Levels

5. Biological and Physiological Needs: basic life needs such as air, food, drink, shelter, warmth, sex, sleep, etc.

4. Safety Needs: protection, stability, security, law, order, limits, etc.

3. Belongingness and Love Needs: affection, family, relationships, work group, etc.

2. Esteem Needs: achievement, responsibility, reputation, and status

1. Self-actualization: fufillment and personal growth.

As the years have passed, Maslow adapted his models to add more levels. In terms of decision making, we will concentrate on the most basic, and rule that any of these needs will be fufilled in the order listed by Maslow if there is any ordering required.

For more on other popular decision making models, see Decision Making Models.

For our popular and concise decision making guides which use our proprietary Decision Making Process , see DECIDE GUIDES

Copyright © Firefli Media